Becoming a designer?

In the last week I’ve come to a realization:  I’m far more experienced a knitter than I thought I was.  First it was adjusting the Rose Harbour shawl pattern to suit my own preferences better.  Next I realized that the Jacob shawls, while I am using a pattern for the basic shape, could have any stitch pattern I wanted (if I wanted a stitch pattern.  I actually want those to be all garter stitch).  Then I was looking through my queue and then newly released patterns trying to find something to knit.  I’m rather in a cowl mood and after looking at a lot of patterns and remembering what I’ve knit recently, it occurred to me that many cowl patterns are simply an edging (garter or whatever) to keep the edges from rolling and then a stitch pattern and then the edging again.  I have stitch dictionaries so what’s to stop me from designing my own patterns?

So that is my goal this fall/winter.  I will design some cowl patterns and put them up on Ravelry for free.  Perhaps move on to hats and mitts later on.  Eventually, in a year or two, I might be able to design more complicated things or stitch patterns, which I would then charge for.

I suppose at some point I’ll have to start my own Ravelry group and have test knitters and whatnot but I think I can manage with just test knitting the patterns myself for now.

I’ve already copied a couple of stitch patterns into a word processing file.  Next will be editing them to be knit in the round and then knitting and taking notes as I go so I can write up the pattern afterwards.  I think the toughest part might be admitting defeat and frogging.  I hate undoing all that hard work.

Leave a Reply

