Knitting WIPs

Mitten Ornaments – While each one is complete except for crocheting a loop and blocking, I’m calling these WIPs because I’m planning on making more.  The pattern is minimal, assuming you already know the basics of making the mittens.  The best part is the printable blank charts.  Pattern calls for worsted weight on size 4 needles.  I’m using scraps of fingering and sport weight on size 4 needles.  I also changed to 6 rows of garter instead of 10 rows of ribbing.  I’ve been coloring my own charts, mostly based of off charts I’ve found online, just adjusted for the number of stitches I have.  I’d have 5 of them except I kept screwing up the one I was making yesterday until I gave up and frogged it.  I kept messing up rows so I’d have to tink back and fix them.  Then I realized I’d only done half a row somewhere plus I wasn’t sure I’d have enough of the background color to finish.  They take less than 2 hours to knit (if I don’t screw up) and are fun little things.  I have no idea where I’ll hang them but I got inspired by the little mittens I saw her making on The Victorian Studio Podcast and just had to make some, although I’m using a different pattern that she did.

Dressing Gown Collar – Tons of short rows.  It’s actually kind of tedious but just a little too difficult to keep track of to be able to watch or listen to anything.  Although that’s getting better as I go along and get used to the rhythm of the short rows.

In Between Days – I have finally finished the stripes (just this morning) and now it’s time for the short rows of mesh.  I’ve read the instructions several times and they don’t quite make sense yet.  It’s probably one of those ones that once I start knitting I’ll get it.  This shawl has turned out to be more of a challenge than expected.  But that’s probably a good thing.  I’ve stuck to simple things for most of 2016 and it’s good to challenge myself and learn new things. I’m not sure I’ll finish this before the end of the year.  The edging looks like it may take more time than I thought.  Plus I’ll be baking cookies much of next week and then there is the holiday weekend where I’ll probably not knit at all.  Still I should get pretty close to done.

 

Leave a Reply

