Knitting WIPs

I forgot to post yesterday.  I was caught up in rearranging/reorganizing a part of my work room and totally forgot.  I’m sorry.

I used to be a full time polymer clay artist.  I mostly made beads but dabbled in just about everything else you can do with polymer clay.  I had a business selling my creations for over 10 years and amassed a huge amount of supplies.  Eventually I burned out.  Attempting to keep up with fads and online sale sites changing policies and fee structures just took all the fun out of it.  I abruptly stopped creating, leaving me with around 100 lbs of clay and supplies/tools.  I dabbled in many things for a few years before finding my love of knitting and fiber.  I packed up most of my clay and supplies but kept them in my room.  Much of it is sensitive to heat so must stay in climate controlled storage, meaning my storage cubbies were out of the question.

I still don’t want to part with my polymer clay supplies as they do come in handy now and then.  I made around 30 drop spindles with polymer clay whorls and one of these days I want to get around to making shawl pins/clasps.  But those bins and drawers of supplies were cutting into fiber storage space.  My husband offered up some space in his basement (I have the extra bedroom, he has most of the basement for his workspace.)  So I moved much of the supplies to the basement, only leaving that which might be useful for other crafts (paints, glitter, etc.)  Wow, that opened up a lot of room.

So then I had to rearrange my fiber stuff to fit in the newly opened up space.  I’m quite pleased so far.  I don’t think I’m quite done.  Some things may get moved around as I use them and find that a different spot works better.  Now I just need my husband to build my project bag corner and I’ll be set.

Anyway, before this organizing frenzy I did get knitting done.

Sing a Song of Sixpence – I just started the 3rd color.  There are six colors but 15 color changes.  This is handspun and hand dyed CVM.

A Downton Wedding Shawl – I’m sort of plodding along on this. I’m about 1/3 through section 3.

I’m also waiting for books to arrive from Amazon.  As well as books from inter-library loans from all over my state.  I’m trying to put together a wish list on Amazon so that when I do find myself with some extra cash I don’t have to spend days deciding what books to buy.  I also like to see books before I buy them.  Too often the reviews and descriptions don’t tell me enough to know if a book will be useful to me.

Once the Amazon books arrive I’ll have to show a pic of my bookshelf.  Interestingly about half are stitch pattern books, bought from thrift stores and rummage sales.  I never pass up a cheap stitch pattern book.

Leave a Reply

