Random Ramblings

I don’t have any WIPs to show this week.  I’m rather disenchanted with all of my WIPs as well as not feeling inspired to cast on anything.  I did work on a few things here and there but not enough progress on any one things to make it worth showing.

Instead of knitting I’ve been catching up on plying some unraveled sweaters.  I had two bins of partially plyed and another bin of two sweaters I wanted to ply together (they were very similar in color and fiber content.)  They need washing before they are ready for measuring, caking and then use.  Not that I have anything planned for any of them.  I found them all during my recent organizing spree and just wanted to get them out of the way.  I’d prefer to keep it to one unraveling/plying project at a time.  And I’ve got enough sweaters that aren’t yet unraveled to keep my busy for quite some time

I’ve also been taking advantage of my library, locally, as well as the extended local and the statewide inter-library loans.  I will have had nearly 50 knitting/spinning/dyeing books pass through my hands by the time I’m done.  I’m making an Amazon wishlist of books I want to purchase.  I’ve found that online reviews are great for seeing if I might be interested in a book, but I really need to get it in my hands to look through to really know if I want to own it.

I’m finding that I’m interested in stitch pattern books more so than knitting pattern books.  I think I’ve reached a point where I’d rather design my own patterns for a lot of things.  Or that I’ve already got too many patterns in my Ravelry queue and have no interest in adding more (this would mostly apply to complicated lace shawls.)  I’m not interested in knitting socks or sweaters and cowls and hats are fairly easy things to design myself.  I do want to branch out into shawl design at some point.  I seem to have a gap in my shawl pattern collection.  They’re either very simple or very complicated.  I don’t seem to find ones in the middle that interest me.  So I’ll have to design them myself.

I’ve set myself a schedule of sorts.  Tuesdays and Thursdays are fiber days.  That means that at some point in the day I work on fiber for as long as my body will allow.  After that it’s back to knitting or whatever I’m doing that day.  I’ve kept this schedule for about a month and so far I’ve finished combing the purple dyed Corriedale and gotten a start on the blue dyed Corriedale.  I’ve finished combing the Merino from Hawaii.  I’m still waiting for the weather to be warm enough to re-scour the rest of the Corriedale.

Well, I think that’s enough rambling for today.  Hopefully my knitting mojo returns and I’ll have WIP progress to show next week.

Leave a Reply

