Random Ramblings

Once again I don’t have any WIPs worth showing.  I’ve been busy with a lot of things other than knitting.

First up, there was an estate sale this past weekend that had some spinning and knitting items (and a whole lot of quilting stuff).  I picked up some Elizabeth Zimmermann books and a stack of Spin Off Magazines, plus some fiber.  I think the fiber is Alpaca.  It wasn’t labeled.

100_4270

It’s brown/black and I’ve started spinning some on a spindle to ply with some mystery fiber I spun back when I started spinning.  More of this will be plied with some other fiber I got at the same time that I’m still spinning on a spindle.

I kept one of the Zimmermann books but I’m selling the other two, along with some other books and magazines I no longer want.  I’m not a sweater knitter so much of Zimmermann’s books aren’t useful to me.

If you’re interested in buying any of this, here are some links:

Knitting Without Tears by Elizabeth Zimmermann 1971

Everything else which includes Polymer Clay books, Lapidary Journal Magazines, Bead Unique Magazines, Art Jewelry Magazines, Expression Magazines.
Lately I’ve been getting tons of books from my library’s Interlibrary Loan system.  The latest batch included 6 volumes of Weldon’s Practical Needlework.  Wow, there is some amazing stuff in there and not just the knitting.  I’m quite intrigued by the Victorian era macrame.  It’s not much like the 1970’s macrame.  I’m thinking of giving some of it a try.  Anyway, the original Weldon books are public domain and I spent most of last evening trying to find them online for free.  No luck on those specifically but I found oodles of other needlework (knitting, crocheting, macrame, tatting, netting, embroidery, etc) books from the same era.
I find that I’m not very interested in knitting patterns these days.  I’m much more interesting in stitch patterns to make my own patterns.  There are plenty of stitch patterns in these old books and even some of the patterns might be interesting to make.  They’re very different from modern designs.  The only problem is deciphering the instructions.  Terms were different then and not consistent between authors (and sometimes patterns from the same author).  And the way things are printed makes if difficult as well.  Instead of each row being on a separate line, everything just runs together.  I’ll have to copy the instructions out, translating the terms to modern usage and separating the rows to make it easier to read.  It’ll be something to do when it’s too hot to knit this summer.
Leave a Reply

