TdF Week 1

So I didn’t manage to post as often as I planned.  It’s been a heck of a week with a lot of non-fiber things going on.  But I did manage to spin quite a bit.

Days 1 and 2 were spent on the Shetland/Corriedale lamb.  I had a bit of an epiphany. I have one wheel with one bobbin so I’ve been spinning singles to fill the bobbin half way and then spinning a second single and plying the two together. I wind them into cakes before plying. It occurred to me that I could fill the bobbin and wind it into a cake and then ply it onto itself since the cake allows me to pull from the center and the outside. And then I’d have no wasted singles. So that’s what I’m trying now. I won’t ply until the end or after TdF since it requires a different drive band and set up for my wheel. I prefer to do all my plying in big batches.

Days 3 and 4 progress and half of day 5. Despite an emergency defrosting of our refrigerator/freezer on Monday and spending several hours away from my wheel for the fireworks on Tuesday I managed 102 grams of Polwarth singles. Although I did get some work done on my spindle while waiting for the fireworks. No after pic, just imagine a fuller spindle.

As per usual, I spend my time waiting for the fireworks spinning on my spindle. If I’m being honest, it’s more showing off to the muggles with my spindle. 😉 I walk around, half don’t watch what I’m doing and all in all, make it look effortless. Eventually someone comes over to ask questions. Last night it was an older gentleman, who wanted to know about the mechanics of it. He said he’d ever seen anything like it.

Days 5, 6 & 7

This is a gorgeous soft cormo. But it was tough going. This is what I combed before I realized that I really needed to re-scour. It’s still got a lot of lanolin in it so it was very sticky. The rest of the fiber was re-scoured and is lanolin free but I ran out of time to comb more before TdF started.

I spun this thinner than my normal but with the lanolin I can’t tell how much it will poof up once washed (which will be more like a scour).

Today (Day 8) I’ve moved on to some CVM.  I’ve barely started but so far it’s going well.  Much thicker than the others so will probably be done faster.  Although I do have some things that will keep me away from my wheel today so maybe it will take 2 days.

Leave a Reply

