TdF Week 2+

I’ve been terrible at updating.  I think it’s because I post updates in my team thread for the group I’m riding with and then utterly forget to post here too.

 

Days 8 and 9

I wasn’t really thinking when I combed this and ended up with some light nests and many more darker nests. There wasn’t enough light to make a whole skein so I held a light and dark together and spun from both at the same time. This fiber is clumpy despite combing so I ended up spinning it quite thick. I think it may end up as bulky once plied. I have a few more light nests left and will continue holding them with a dark nest until the light nests run out and then I’ll finish the skein in dark. If I don’t like the end results of these two skeins I’ll dye them. Either brown to try to even things out or maybe red. I’ve dyed the dark brown red before and it turned out well.

Days 10 and 11

Combed Merino. This is as thin as my wheel would allow. I’m guessing at fingering weight once plied, maybe less. Depends on how much it poofs up after washing. It was actually pretty easy to spin. It wasn’t nearly as fussy as I was expecting.

Days 12 and 13

Dyed and combed Corriedale spun as thin as my wheel will allow. The pic of the singles is closest to the actual color. My camera doesn’t like purple.

100_4482

Day 14

Corriedale combing waste. Now that turned out much better. I spun two singles today, using up the fiber, and plied them on a spindle. They would not have fit on my wheel, both in thickness and length. I barely got it spun with the wheel. My wheel doesn’t like thick. Heck, it barely fit on one of my biggest spindles to ply.

I quite like the variety of shades of purple in the skein. It’s not washed yet so it may fluff up some. It’s definitely going to be bulky.

Days 15 and 16

And another single done. I estimate that I have enough fiber for one more or three total. That’s a respectable amount from a fairly small fleece.

Days 17 and 18

Second Polwarth single done. These will be plied back onto themselves to make 2 skeins. Not bad for 1lb of raw fiber. Probably will knit a small shawl with them – someday – after dyeing them a color yet to be determined.

And that gets me caught up.  Tomorrow it’s back to Merino. And then the CVM and then the Shetland/Corriedale lamb.  That should get me through the end of TdF. I might keep going and finish off the Merino and I think that is all of the fiber I have prepped (aside from the Romney/Teeswater for art yarn).

Then I’ll spend a few days plying and after that it’s prepping Cormo and Corriedale and maybe some knitting.  I don’t think I’ve knit in almost 2 months.  It’s been all fiber prep and spinning.

Leave a Reply

