Finished Shawl

SUNP0086.JPG

At last, a finished object.  600 yards of handspun Icelandic yarn from 9 different sheep.

It’s a tiny bit damp. This yarn takes forever to dry in Winter.  It’s very dense.  It’s a large shawl and weighs more than 2lbs.  It’s very very warm.

I want to give it another day or two to dry and then it and the matching hats will get shipped off to the sheep owners.

With this shawl done, I finally got back to the French Quilt Shawl.  Turns out I was nearly done with the 6th octagon.  I will finish it up on Wednesday and get it blocked.  After that it’s figuring out the filler pieces and the layout and getting those knit and the whole thing sewn together.  After that it’s the border and edging.

I’ve got the other 6 Weldon’s Practical Needlework on their way to me so I’ll have the complete set of 12.  Plus a few other knitting books.  We buy our own Christmas presents around here since it’s extremely difficult to buy for each other.  He doesn’t know knitting/fiber things without an extremely detailed list and I know even less about hobby electronics or brewing.  Not to mention, I’m home all day and bring in the mail, which would rather ruin the surprise if he bought me anything.

Leave a comment